Live chat

Mayors of Maroondah City Council


Maroondah City Council was constituted on 15 December 1994.

Inaugural elections for Councillors were conducted on 15 March 1997 and the seven elected Councillors were sworn into office on 17 March 1997.

Maroondah Councillors were initially elected for a three year term with elections being held in March 1997, March 2000 and March 2003.

The election date was changed to November for the 2005 elections.

For the November 2008 elections Council was elected for a four year term until November 2012 and the structure of wards was changed from seven single member wards (total of seven Councillors) to three wards with three Councillors representing each ward (total of nine Councillors).

Maroondah, like all Victorian Councils, holds elections every four years. The next election will be on the last Saturday of October in 2016.

Mayors of Maroondah City Council 

 Name  Mayoral Term
 Leslie (Les) Thomas Willmott JP  March 1997 to March 1998
 Giuseppe (Joe) Cossari  March 1998 to March 1999
 Maureen Ann Naylor  March 1999 to March 2000
 Peter Thomas Gurr  March 2000 to March 2001
 Neil Rose  March 2001 to March 2002
 Francis (Frank) John Corr  March 2002 to March 2003
 Leslie (Les) Thomas Willmott JP  March 2003 to March 2004
 Neil Rose  March 2004 to December 2004*
 Paul Robert Denham  December 2004 to November 2005
 Leslie (Les) Thomas Willmott JP  November 2005 to December 2006
 Peter Thomas Gurr  December 2006 to December 2007
 Anthony (Tony) Dib JP  December 2007 to November 2008
 Peter Thomas Gurr  December 2008 to December 2009
 Alex Makin  December 2009 to December 2010
 Anthony (Tony) Dib JP  December 2010 to December 2011
 Rob Steane  December 2011 to October 2012** 
 Nora Lamont  November 2012 to November 2013
 Les Willmott JP  November 2013 to November 2014
 Tony Dib JP  November 2014 to November 2015
 Natalie Thomas  November 2015 - October 2016

* Term as Mayor shortened to enable simultaneous elections to be held for all Victorian Councils.

* * Term as Mayor shortened by State Government.

 Borough of Ringwood and City of Ringwood Mayors (Pdf, 184kb)

 Shire of Croydon Presidents and City of Croydon Mayors (Pdf, 90kb) 

 Commissioners of Maroondah (Pdf, 11kb)

Main Navigation